The Beginning of the Ending


This year I start the beginning to the ending of my twenties. Three years ago I wrote a piece on my thoughts entering the ending of my mid-twenties. No this won’t be a drawn-out piece on how a millennial feels old, or document my angst towards my wasted youth. No. In fact, it may be one of the shortest pieces I write on the subject matter. (Which if you’re a regular to the site, might be a relief, ha)

Some people that I have left behind, in a truly magical land called New Zealand (insert etherial voiceover), only really find out what’s going on in my head through what I write in this blog. Here you’ll find posts about some truly deep stuff and then stumble on something that is anything but deep. You’ll get it all here folks. But one thing that I tend to do a lot of is talk about how things are affecting me from the outside in. What better thing to shake it all up than turning 29. Well…turning 30 I guess…Right…

I’m keeping it short because I don’t feel like giving the clichéd power to another year coming and going–or the overplayed record track, entitled, “What Have I Done With My Life??” Honestly, life is going great. Sure I don’t have a job yet, and I miss my friends overseas. Yes I’m not married. No, I have no children. Professionally I’m not where I thought I’d be. The reason these things don’t hold power over me is for one: Who says when things should happen in your life? Other people? Haha, no. The only reason I feel that I should be at a certain point in my life is because I was comparing myself to others and their “success.” So no, I don’t feel overly old or regretful.

The last time I wrote about my birthday I told myself similar things that I tell myself today: “Don’t worry about what I haven’t done yet,” “Be proud of what you’ve done so far.” All still hold weight and value on my life. I also ended that post telling myself to just “look forward,” which is exactly what I intend to do.

You see, I’m learning that the message doesn’t change from year to year. If anything, the message becomes louder and more singular. In fact, what’s become most clear of all is that God’s timing for things is the only thing I really want to seek. His timing is the most real, the most perfect, the most true. What more could I ask for as another year passes? I have friends, family, and Love. We need to worry less about the outcome when we set our sights on the proper light.

I claimed it to myself the night I turned 29, and I’ll claim it again here tonight. This is going to be one hell of a year. I just have to relax and enjoy the ride.

Don't be shy, Leave a Reply...

