Independence Day 2014


This past 4th of July marked the 238th year since we as American citizens gained our independence from the British. In my lifetime, I will hopefully have seen the 250th anniversary and maybe even the 300th if I live to 89 years old! Countless struggles and trials have been overcome in those 238 years. Numerous victories won. Injustices done to people have been too many to count. What we are today is a manufacturing of the choices we have made along the way. The America that we see is a product, a project, but we are not a finished project. We are not a finished product. No. As the years go on, we change, shape, and decide what America will look like in the next 20 years, 50 years, or 100 years.

I still associate myself as an American because I am an American citizen. Still, standing on the outside looking in, I cannot help but ask what direction we are heading in and if it is encouraging growth, wisdom, and positive development. Alright, enough on that. I’m not making this an anti-American piece, don’t worry.

For the first time in my life, I have missed the 4th of July. I meant to do something here on New Zealand July 4th, 2014, but it was hallow. Then on the American July 4th, which was the next day for me, the entire day passed before me without a word or tip of the hat to my country. What country would I be saluting? The dead soldiers making our lands safe? The generations of fighters, workers, and dreamers who carved a way for me to freely explore my own dreams? Yes. To those that made a way possible for us in a land free, thank you.

And yes, there are those who actively oppress basic rights, and stand in the way of freedoms we are given. These people will never go away, they will always be there to make life a pain. So in their place, we can keep making America the land they wanted it to be 238 years ago. A place where we can live, thrive, and pursue happiness. And even though I missed celebrating my Independence Day, I knew that you all (my American readers) did plenty of celebrating that night.

 

Don't be shy, Leave a Reply...

