Happy Birthday Dad


100_6781
Happy Birthday.
To a Father that is held above all others.
Not because he has super powers, or has saved a baby from a burning building.
No. Because growing up, he was not loved like he loves me.
Because at the age of 21, he had, and then lost something that takes years to come back from.
Because he didn’t let that cripple him, but met my mother.
Because he raised me, a crazy ginger boy, more sensitive than your average kid.
Because he provided for a family when it was impossible to make the right decisions.
Because I KNOW we kids weren’t easy to raise.
Because it could have been easy to give up.
Because choosing God meant life would get harder at times.
Because he knew how to live in plenty and in want.
Because modeling a good marriage meant showing his weaknesses, swallowing his pride, and resolving a fight.
Because the years when presents were in low supply were some of the best years we had as a family.
Because I am his “bud” even to this day.
Because he was there for my baseball games, football games, soccer games.
Because after being bullied to the point of tears, he wanted to tear down those kid’s walls and convey my pain.
Because he bailed me out of too many problems I caused.
Because he gave his blessing on my moving overseas, even though I know it killed him inside.
Because he’s proud of me, who I’ve become, and what I have devoted my life to.
Because he chose to be a better father than his own.
Because he told me he loved me every chance he had.
Because at the end of the day, I want to resemble no other man but my Father.
Happy Birthday Dad, I love you so much, and I miss you. I hope that I will be as good of a Father as I’ve seen in you.
Your Bud,
Eric

Screen Shot 2013-08-23 at 11.19.51 AM

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Dad

  1. Sharon Peterson

    I was brought to tears by your writing to Dad. Eric, God has truly done a work in you and is continuing His work in you. I’m am so proud of you and miss you so much. I know God has a plan for you and is in the process of working it out. In the meantime, He is working a good work in you. I love you so much, Eric!
    Mom

  2. EP this is so moving. I join you in praising the Father for demonstrating even just a sliver of his goodness in your relationship with your earthly father. He is so pleased and glorified by you both.

  3. Eric, you have inspired ME in so many ways. I’m confident that you will be even a better father and husband than me because of the things God has built into you—through the joys and sorrows of life. I couldn’t be prouder of who you are—and who you are still becoming—in Christ. It seems that, for whatever reason, your path has been paved with struggle, pain, and hard work. While that can be discouraging at times (when you’re in the midst of it), know that nothing of value or worth comes without sacrifice and hard work. Your life, your relationships, your career, will be all the sweeter because of it. You remind me that I am blessed beyond what I deserve, and it’s that very grace God has lavished on me, I hope to extend to others who desperately need it. I love you and miss you so much Eric. Hang in there. “For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus.” (Phil. 1:6). Love you buddy!

Don't be shy, Leave a Reply...

