Film #36: Heavy Weights


As I am nearing the ending of this crazy challenge that I issued to myself, I find myself watching movies that bring me back to my childhood days. What am I talking about? I’m talking about the movie Heavyweights. 

I must have watched this movie about a hundred times as a kid. It was one of the many that my dad had in his collection, but I found the movie SO funny. With a cast including Kenan Thompson, Ben Stiller, Shaun Weiss, and Jerry Stiller this film was packed to the brim with nostalgia. With three cast members straight out of Mighty Ducks, this movie made me think of a more simple time, an innocence that exists only in memory. It was fun to watch again.

The plot is quite simple. There is this fat kid. His parents send him to a fat camp. The old owners had to turn over the camp to a entrepreneur (Ben Stiller) who is turning the fat camp into a weight loss camp. Naturally chaos ensues when the campers don’t like what is going on. Hilarity aplenty and you will love this film if you love to laugh.

Like I said before, I think that this film caters to a certain place in my heart. I’m not sure why, but sometimes I like to watch films that I watched in my childhood. Call it nostalgia. Call it trying to return to my youth. Call it whatever you want. I enjoy going back and watching these films, and I think it will only get better when I have kids, haha.

One thought on “Film #36: Heavy Weights

  1. For some people it’s songs that mark moments in time. For movie junkies like us, it’s movies. I have the same connection to movies. For instance, I was 9 years old when I saw Bonnie & Clyde in the movie theater. Not exactly a kids film, but I can still remember the way I felt, the way the theater smelled and whenever I watch it again, I’m right back there. You will always have a special place in your heart for certain movies. That’s why we can watch White Christmas and many other Christmas classics over and over again.

Don't be shy, Leave a Reply...

