Film #34: Thor


Tonight I watched Thor. This movie was an addition to the Marvel series that was building up for the Avengers movie that came out this summer. The previous films to back this franchise were Hulk, Iron Man, and Captain America. Hawkeye was featured in Thor and Black Widow was featured in Iron Man. These movies did very well on there own (aside from the first Hulk, but we wont mention that…) but aside from the first Iron Man, I thought Thor did the best job. Maybe I am bias because I love that good old Nordic folklore, but Thor was great in my book.

The star line up for this film was quite impressive. With actors like Anthony Hopkins, Stellan Skarsgård (Good Will Hunting), Natalie Portman, and Chris Hemsworth how can you go wrong? The story line that Marvel took with the Thor story was a good fit in my opinion. Basically, the long and short of it is: The warrior Thor (Hemsworth) is cast out of the fantastic realm of Asgard by his father Odin (Hopkins) for his arrogance and sent to Earth to live among humans. Falling in love with scientist Jane Foster (Portman), she teaches Thor much-needed lessons, and his new-found strength comes into play as a villain from his homeland sends dark forces toward Earth. You know, end of the world type stuff.

I saw this movie with my brother in laws Randy and Noel, as well another friend. My friend and I loved the movie, but my brother in laws were not so impressed. I’m not sure how this is possible, but they said that they weren’t that entertained. I still can’t really fathom how someone is desensitized enough to not be entertained even a little bit by a movie like Thor. I guess I’ll never understand it. C’est la vie.

Anyway, if you like the Marvel type: explosions, superpowers, love interest, saving the world from annihilation, evil guy-good-guy battles, and father issues….then this is the film for you. Check it out…regardless of what my brother in laws say…

2 thoughts on “Film #34: Thor

Don't be shy, Leave a Reply...

