Film #31: The Game


Tonight I re-watched The Game starring Michael Douglas. I have to say right out that this film was one of the most mind blowing finishes that I have never seen coming. I had heard of this film, but hadn’t seen it until about a few months back when I saw it with my family. It’s one of those films that has you guessing the entire time, and leaves you breathless every time.

I honestly had to give a standing ovation for this film and its plot twists. It sees like they had one for every turn that the film took. My father is infamous in our family for guessing plot twists and not being left out of the loop. Most of the time he ends up guessing the end of the film, which to the annoyance of my sister, is slightly impressive. I’m not sure that even my dad saw this one coming when he first saw it.

As you could guess, this movie is a thriller and a “game” of a movie. The story follows Nicholas Van Orton, a rich, middle aged man who inherited his fathers wealth after he committed suicide when Nick was only a child. Nicholas is an absolute loner, even spending his birthday alone. In the year of his 48th birthday (the age his father committed suicide) his brother Conrad (played by Sean Penn), who has gone long ago and surrendered to addictions of all kinds, suddenly returns and gives Nicholas a card giving him entry to unusual entertainment provided by something called Consumer Recreation Services (CRS). Giving up to curiosity, Nicholas visits CRS and all kinds of weird and bad things start to happen to him.

I can’t recommend this film enough and I encourage you to watch it with others. I feel that not even the combined brain power will be able to see this ending coming.

Don't be shy, Leave a Reply...

