Film #25: The Last of the Mohicans


Tonight I watched The Last of the Mohicans. I had heard about this film from many other people, including my sister who said it was good. I decided that it was time I had seen this film and give it a review.

The movie is set in the 1750’s when the French and English were at war over the territories in the New World. First World People’s were aiding the troops on both sides, as some of them were hurt by the murderous atrocities done to them by the English. Hawkeye, played by Daniel Day-Lewis, was brought up by the Mohicans after his family was killed when he was 2 years old. Hawkeye is called to aid Mother England in the fight, but refuses. He becomes interested in a woman, Cora, and now fights to protect her from the War party sweeping the settlements. Chaos ensues and explosions are aplenty.

I liked this film. I have always enjoyed movies with First World Peoples (FWP) influence and culture. I find their world an incredibly interesting and ancient world, filled with tradition and value. It has been squandered with help from the fathers who made this country what it is today, and I weep for their death and the death of their beautiful culture. Of course there are still FWP in this country, and I know I speak like they are extinct, but after the crimes that we committed against these people and their home land, I can’t help but honor them and their way of life in any way that I can. I respect them more than anything…and I’m sorry for the direction their way of life went. After writing papers on this population and doing research on FWP, I just feel disgrace towards the men who came before me. This film isn’t so much about what I had just said, but I felt inclined to say it.

The Last of the Mohicans was worth a watch. I have to say that it is a bit violent, so keep that in mind. I enjoyed the story that was told about the clearly murky relations between theEnglish, French, and FWP. It was a dark time, but it was bound to happen when men think that anything is theirs for the taking.

There is a scene in this movie that I just absolutely loved. Hawkeye is laying in the woods in the cover of night, keeping a watch for the War party. Cora is with him and she asks Hawkeye a question regarding those living in cabins unprotected:

Cora: Why were those people living in this defenseless place?

Hawkeye looks up at the stars and bright moon and tells her:

Hawkeye: After seven years indentured service in Virginia, they headed out here ’cause the frontier’s the only land available to poor people. Out here, they’re beholden to none. Not living by another’s leave.

I thought the images of nature used and the idea of living on the land with no one to answer to but yourself was beautiful. I think that this is something everyone strives towards or desires. I know that whenever I am in the stillness of nature, away from everything and isolated…I feel it. I feel the freedom and the solitude. In that moment, I understood what Hawkeye was talking about. Even though they were unprotected and in a potentially dangerous place, they needed to be out there. It was the call.

Check out this film if you like what I had to say. I enjoyed it and I think you will too.

Don't be shy, Leave a Reply...

