Film #19: The Count of Monte Cristo


Tonight I watched The Count of Monte Cristo, adapted screenplay from the novel by Alexandre Dumas, the same writer who wrote ‘The Three Musketeers.’ I had seen this movie from an early age, and found it hard to keep up with all of the technical aspects of this film. Who framed who, who did what to whom, why this was being done, why this person was doing this, and so on. Watching this movie for the tenth time or so, it is refreshing to have watched the film with some years and experience in the world. The added knowledge aids in my understanding of the plot and why certain things are happening.

I have to say, I absolutely love this movie and always have. The story is so intriguing and romantic, that it is difficult to resist the draw created in mystery, plots of revenge, romance, and betrayal. The film does a wonderful job illustrating the books ancient art of painting a picture of the human condition. These aspects of the film that I mentioned are all things we experience in this lifetime. The brilliance of what the film does is demonstrating how we respond to betrayal and hurt and injustice. How we respond is what makes us.

Without giving anything away Edmond Dantès, played by Jim Caviezel, is convicted of a crime he never committed. He is imprisoned for a very long time and plans revenge on those who wronged him. That is about as far as I’ll go describing the plot of the movie. The rest is for you to experience. Trust me, this film is worth checking out.

Aside from my raving review of this film, I don’t exactly rejoice in the path that Dumas takes in writing this story. With respect to the historical context of this period and understanding that the 17th century was quite a different time…I personally think the inscription that was carved into Edmond Dantès’s prison cell, “God will grant me justice,” is not what the viewer should take away from the film. I feel that they showed this at the end of the film to illustrate to the viewer the long road that Dantès had to take to get to where is now, and that vengeance is ultimately hollow.

If you’ve seen this film, let me know what you thought.

3 thoughts on “Film #19: The Count of Monte Cristo

  1. Angie

    One of my faves as well. Watching as I type. But just noticed something. Dantes is illiterate and learns to read, write etc while in the Chateau Diff. Yet upon arrival he carves God will grant me justice into the wall.
    It’s been 50 years reading the book and many years watching the movie. It just occurred to me today while watching b
    But yes great rendition. !!

    1. Lisa

      It is already carved in the wall when he arrives. Another prisoner had put it there before he arrived at the Chateau D’If

  2. I thought this was a great film also. It was beautifully shot. The time, effort and energy Dantès puts into exacting his revenge is amazing, and yet when the revenge is taken, it doesn’t satisfy as he hoped. It never does. However, without the drive for vengeance, he probably wouldn’t have made it through everything. If only the prospect of making a positive impact created the same drive and determination as revenge did. This film reveals the heart condition of man. Ultimately, we need a heart transplant. We need God’s heart.

Don't be shy, Leave a Reply...

