Film #2: G.I. JOE: The Rise of Cobra


Film number two on the list tonight was G.I. JOE: Rise of the Cobra. More like rise of the bad writing staff! It was corny one liners like the one I just used that really made GI JOE hard for me to enjoy. The dialogue was fast paced and rushed, like they were trying to break a new “conversation land speed record.” It was awkward to say the least.

Still, I am not writing these blogs to monologue entirely over how picky I am with films. On the contrary, I feel that of all my friends, I am the least likely to care how bad a film is. I can sit through a horrible film and still come out feeling entertained. A few of my friends will leave a theater saying, ” Meh,” or, “You know, I wasn’t impressed.” or, “That was awful.” Which leaves me thinking, “Really? Awful? Nothing about the film was redeemable what-so-ever?! Seriously? You know that 50 years ago, these kind of special effects would have had people pooping in their seats from excitement.” I just can’t understand how people get a ‘rush’ from being their own personal Roger & Ebert after a “worthless piece of film.” Soapbox of lies.

Wait a second Eric. You JUST did this in the first paragraph. I know. I know. It’s difficult to not say something sometimes. I know it’s not my job, but I promise you that in these blogs I wont dwell on the negative but also point out the positive.

So G.I. JOE did manage to create a story that went from one exotic venue to the next. The main characters are trying to prevent the antagonists from creating mass panic and widespread destruction upon the people of the world. Deep stuff. The film does a great job on the action, and even finds a way to integrate two deep back stories for four main characters, and then another involving two other main characters. They managed to do so without loosing me or the fast pace of the movie.

Overall, it was on par with Citizen Kane and Star Wars: New Hope. Haha, just kidding. More like The Mummy or Indiana Jones and the Legend of the Crystal Skull. The thing of it is, I can enjoy any movie no matter if is Avatar, The Notebook, Spiderman 3, Waterworld, or Batman Forever. I just can. How? Because at the core of it, I just enjoy being in the theater. The experience of it all, the atmosphere, the smells. I love it all. Even when I’m home, I’m entranced by “The Power of a Film.” If you don’t know what I am talking about, go watch the film, Hugo. 

2 thoughts on “Film #2: G.I. JOE: The Rise of Cobra

Don't be shy, Leave a Reply...

