Breaking The Cycle

Well avid readers…it seems that I have broken the cycle writing every month. I believe that I was able to write every month for two years, but alas, I was not able to do so this year.

I guess that I am updating, as I usually do this time of year, because writing is incredibly therapeutic and has always been a breath of fresh air. recently, I had a conversation with an All-American mom of five, struggling to live and put food on the table. I listened to her plight for about 45 minutes, all the while being drained of any optimism that I once held for the current state that our country is in.

At one point, the woman was in tears when she was describing how she felt like she failed her children and how she couldn’t provide anymore. I watched her as she visibly began to drain herself of any hope to get herself out of the mess she was already in. I found myself agreeing with many of the things that she was saying without having a rope to throw her.

As a Social Worker and Therapist, I have been hearing, in increasing volume, how much crap the people of America are having to put up with. As a 24 year old, sensitive male, it can be hard to leave your clients problems at the door when you lock up at night. I sometimes find myself thinking about how the mother of 5 keeps going, or how my other clients find the resolve to continue.

This is what I can instill in them. Hope. Hope to keep fighting. hope that one day will be different, and we will be looking back with sighs of relief. Hope that permeates all of the darkness and creates a sliver of light. And I, myself, have to continue to see that in them and empower them to see the same.

If you know of someone who is struggling in these tough times, or having a hard time seeing the good in anything anymore…give them the hope they so desperately need. Be there for them, even if it is for a moment. Sometimes, that moment that you spend with them is exactly what the doctor ordered. Break that cycle and change their life.

