Photos Are a Beautiful Thing.


It’s a curious thing…pictures. They are everywhere nowadays. You can’t go anywhere without someone snagging your photo, or attend a gathering without having some sort of photograph taken of you within the night. When I first used facebook in 2006, I thought it was a sight to upload photos and share them with people, share your many “faces.” As the years progressed, facebook has revolutionized photos. “It’s a Myspace Photo” people would always say. Now, they laugh as they proclaim, “This is so facebook,” or, “This is so going on facebook.”

I would be willing to wager that we have reached a point in time, where more photos have been taken in the past 10 years, than in the previous 30. With digital cameras and “oops” photos, we take an obscene amount of photos.

“Why is he talking about photos?”

Well, just the other week, I was looking through my families old photo albums. I flipped through photo upon embarrassing photo of my sisters and I when we were too young to know what the heck we were wearing. As I turned each glossy, sticky page…I began to realize something. Back then, photos were a beautiful thing. It was a snapshot, no mistakes…or very few, of the best memories we had. Candid snapshots of the funniest moments, the lovely scenery, the warm holidays, the hot lawn chair days. And they were put into Albums, to be passed to our kids. When they flip through them, as I did this week, they will be able to see a life they never knew, experience feelings they never felt, and witness people who loved them, when we were too small to say I love you back.

Photos are a beautiful thing. Treasure them….not just for facebook.

Don't be shy, Leave a Reply...

